Our Board

Nick Turner


Nicolas Turner is Managing Director of public relations, advertising and marketing agency Corporate Communications (Tas) Pty Ltd. He has 30 years’ experience as a journalist and public relations professional in Tasmania. A former reporter with the Mercury, Nick covered State politics, industrial relations, rural affairs and sport. In his role at Corporate Communications he consults to enterprises involved in a wide range of industries. He is a former national and Tasmanian president of the Public Relations Institute of Australia (PRIA) and is a Life Member of the PRIA and OHA Hockey Club in Hobart.

Moira Laverty


Moira Laverty is CEO of Queen Victoria Care. She is a registered general and psychiatric nurse (Edinburgh) and has held several management positions in both public and private health in Victoria and Tasmania. Moira was Chair of the Nursing Board of Tasmania for two consecutive terms and rejoined the Board as CEO, a position she held for ten years. Moira is a strong proponent of the right of every older person to live ‘the best life they can live’ and receive the best and most appropriate care they require as they age. She works with the dedicated team at the QVCare to ensure this happens.

Margaret Murray

Board Member

Margaret Murray BBus is a retired Registered Nurse. During her 30-year career at the Royal Hobart Hospital she spent 12 years as Clinical Nurse Manager of the Intensive Care Unit and 10 years as Nursing Director for Medical Services. Following retirement from full time work in 2003 Margaret was appointed Deputy member of the Parole Board of Tasmania. Her involvement with the Queen Victoria Home began in 2002 when her father and later a much-loved aunt were residents of the home. She has been a member of the QVCare Board since 2015.

Josef Giedl

Board Member

Josef Geidl joined the Board in May 2018 after a career as a geologist in Queensland, Victoria and Tasmania and subsequently as a senior project manager with a large private engineering consulting firm in Tasmania. Josef’s diverse roles included engineering geologist, quality management facilitator, Myers-Briggs assessor and a secondment to TAFE Tasmania as manager for their META management Development Programme. A past member of the Geological Society of Australia and the Australian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy. Josef has a BSc Hons in Earth Sciences from Monash University and also a Graduate Diploma of Political Science from the University of Tasmania.

Annette Marlow

Board Member

Annette first registered as a nurse in 1985 and has been employed in a variety of healthcare settings locally and internationally since this time. Annette is currently employed by the College of Health and Medicine, University of Tasmania where she undertakes the role of Director of Professional Experience. Since 2010 Annette has actively been engaged in many research and evaluation projects primarily focussing on the provision of quality professional experience placements to students. Annette’s participation in ‘Establishing Teaching Nursing Homes to Provide Quality Inter-Professional Clinical Placements in Aged Care’ has confirmed the necessity to promote non-traditional placement opportunities to healthcare students, thus ensuring they receive a more global and representative understanding of healthcare provision.

Victoria Newton

Board Member

Victoria Newton is an experienced human resources professional. Victoria has worked in a diverse range of industry sectors; resources, health, manufacturing and utilities both in Australia and overseas. She is experienced in leading cultural change, organisational design, managing talent and developing individual and organisational capability.
Victoria is passionate about contributing to the creation of work environments that offer value for both the employee and the employer. She holds a Bachelor of Arts degree and Masters of Business Administration.